MCVFRA President Honored by Congressional Fire Services Institute

The Congressional Fire Services Institute honored Marcine D. Goodloe, President of the Montgomery County Volunteer Fire-Rescue Association as the recipient of the 2012 CFSI/Motorola Solutions Mason Lankford Fire Service Leadership Award.  The award presentation took place at the 24th Annual National Fire and Emergency Services Dinner on April 26th at the Washington Hilton, in Washington, DC.

Established in 1998 and co-sponsored by CFSI and Motorola Solutions, the Mason Lankford Fire Service Leadership Award recognizes individuals who have been proactive at the local, state and federal government levels to improve and advance fire/emergency services and life safety issues.  Representing a cross section of the fire and emergency services, previous recipients have included chiefs, instructors, career and volunteer leaders as well as public safety advocates.

Ms. Goodloe is being recognized for her 40 years of leadership in advancing the fire service agenda at the local and state levels in the state of Maryland.    The first female ever elected as President of the Montgomery County Volunteer Fire-Rescue Association, Ms. Goodloe is currently serving her ninth term as President.  During her tenure as President, she has successfully negotiated a number of agreements between the association that represents 1,800 volunteers and the county government. In addition, she has advanced a number of key policies relating to training, physical standards, and drug and alcohol abuse testing.

Said Senator Ben Cardin in his letter of support, “I am pleased to offer this recommendation for a devoted public servant who, through her work in the fire, rescue, and emergency medical service, has dedicated her life to serving others, distinguishing herself as a true fire service leader.”

On the state level, Mrs. Goodloe has been active, engaging elected officials on matters of policy and legislation.  She chaired the Recruitment and Retention Committee of the Maryland State Firemen’s Association and for her many years of service she was voted into the association’s Hall of Fame in 2007.

To view a photo album of the event click here. All photos by Ed Tenney.

For more information about the CFSI and the award, visit their website at